Stage Struck! 2020

Edmonton Regional One Act Festival: Stage Struck!2020 slated for March 20 and 21, 2020 has been postponed until further notice. We are hoping for an April or May Regional Festival, but that all depends on the national health situation and venue availability. Please stay tuned! Wishing all of you well. 

What: Edmonton adult one-act play festival
When: March 20-21, 2020
Where: La Cité Francophone, 8627 rue Marie-Anne-Gaboury (91st Street)

Is there a one-act play you always wanted to produce? Need an outlet for your own new play? Would you like a first run of your Fringe show? We’ll provide the venue, the audience and the professional adjudication; you provide the talent! The winning play goes to the Provincial Festival. Entrants must be based in the City of Edmonton

  • Any scripted play, previously published or new, between 10 to 60 minutes in length, is eligible for production.
  • Entry fee $50
  • Entries being accepted now.

Only 9 spaces available! For more information or to request a registration package, contact Mary Anne at 780.450.8199 or matrann(at) Submission deadline is January 5, 2020.

Download Poster Here.

Committee members:
Mary-Ellen Perley
Mary Anne Trann
Sarah Elliot Brinkman
Alan Westen
Roy Jackson
Cassie Duval
Alle DeMelo
David Bodnar

Stage Struck! 2019

Friday & Saturday, April 26-27, 2019
La Cite Francophone
8627 rue Marie-Anne Gaboury (91 St)

Photo Credit: Sarah Elliot
Outstanding Production: Killing Captain Slap Dash
Outstanding Performance: Eric Smith and Francie Goodwin-Davies
Outstanding Direction: Gerald Osborn
Outstanding New Work: Gate 22

The Edmonton Region of the Alberta Drama Festival Association (ADFA) proudly presents its Stage Struck! 2019 One Act Play Festival on April 26-27, 2019. The festival will feature eight plays: seven are original works by local playwrights and six of these are New Works! 

The 2019 festival has three sessions, with a short public adjudication by the Festival’s Adjudicator after each play. Following the Saturday evening session, awards will be presented for Outstanding Production, Outstanding Performances (2), and Outstanding Direction. There will also be an Alberta Playwrights Network prize to the recipient of the Outstanding New Work Award. Each group receives a private adjudication.

The winning production from Stage Struck! 2019 will compete in the ADFA Provincial Festival, to be held May 3 & 4 in High River. The 2019 Festival is brought to you with the assistance of: Alberta Playwright’s Network, The Alberta Foundation for the Arts, and Tix on the Square. 

Here is the line-up for the weekend:

Friday Evening: 7 to 11 PM

  • Good Morning, Paul by Morgan Grau
  • The Author’s Voice by Richard Greenberg
  • Gate 22 by Alexandria Rose Fortier

Saturday Afternoon 1 to 4 PM

  • The Part by Clayton Plamonden
  • Skinwalker by Brayden O'Boyle
  • Killing Captain Slapdash by Gerald Osborn

Saturday Evening: 7 to 11 pm

  • Rekindle by Amanda Samuelson
  • Open Invitation by The Saint Maggie Collective (Nicole Grainger, Justin Deveau, Marcia Anderson, Liz Grierson and Darrell Portz)

Tickets through TIX ON THE SQUARE or at the door (cash only at the door)
Weekend pass: $35 adult; $28 senior/student
Single ticket: $14 adult; $12 senior/student

For publicity inquiries, please contact Sarah Elliott at uqbarcalling(at) or 780-231-2466.

PDF Download
See more about Stage Stuck! 2019

Stage Stuck! 2018

The 2018 Edmonton Region Adult One Act Play Festival took place on April 6 & 7, 2018 at La Cité
Francophone, 8627 rue Marie-Anne- Gaboury (91 Street). 

Images from the 2017 Festival

Adjudicator was Jim Guedo

2017 Awards

Outstanding Production
written by Lyle Victor Albert 
directed by Gerald Osborn
Jim Zalcik
John Dolphin
Ruby Swekla
Francie Goodwin-Davies
Clayton Plamondon
Outstanding New Work
"Next Sunday"
written and directed by Clare Mullen
Outstanding Director
Gerald Osborn for "Cut!"
Outstanding Actors
Francie Goodwin-Davies  as Nippletitus in "Cut!"
Eric Smith as Boo in "Bed Bug Bossa Nova"
Adjudicated by Jim Guedo

2016 Results

2015 Results