ADFA Foothills Region

The Foothills Region covers the area surrounding, but not including, Calgary west to the British Columbia border. Communities in the region include Cochrane, Canmore, Airdrie, High River, Strathmore, Bragg Creek, and Okotoks. 


The Foothills Regional Festival will take place April 26 & 27,  2019. Hosted by Windmill Players, High River at the Highwood Memorial Centre. Invites will be sent out in January. Stay tuned for more information. 

Foorhills 2019 Festival


The Foothills Zone Regional Festival was hosted by Windmill Players in High River March 23, 24, 25, 2018. The 3 day Festival was adjudicated by Aaron Coates of Calgary. There were 15 Plays entered by 5 Theatre groups, including Windmill Players High River, Dewdney Players Okotoks, Nose Creek Players Airdrie, Pine Tree Players Canmore, and Strathmore Theatre Players Guild. 
Special thanks to Windmill Players for an incredible Festival weekend, and to Aaron Coates for his outstanding Adjudication, as well as to all the Festival Participants and Theatre audience.



The Foothills Regional One Act Festival was held in Okotoks Alberta by the host group Dewdney Players. This two day event took place on April 28th and 29th 2017. Adjudicated by the Lovely Valerie Planche with 11 Entries in total from Airdrie, High River, Okotoks and Canmore. A wonderful weekend of quality community Theatre.

Foothills Region One-Act Play Festival  2017

And The Winners Are:

Outstanding Male Actor: Jim Goodwin of Windmill Players, as “Howard Wilkins” in “The House Still Stands” by Karen King
Outstanding Female Actor: Theresa Thiessen of Pine Tree Players, as “Henrietta Billings” in “House Of The Holy Moment” by Cary Pepper
Outstanding Director:Erin Suitor of Windmill Players, for “The House Still Stands” By Karen King
Outstanding Production: ​“The House Still Stands” by Karen King, Windmill Players
Outstanding Original Play by an Alberta Playwright: ​Reg Gothard (Kelvin D Hatch) for “Coffee With Gabe”, Dewdney Players Group Theatre

Honourable Mentions

Outstanding Male Actor: Shamir Ladhani of Dewdney Players as “Gabe” in “Coffee With Gabe”, by Kelvin D Hatch
Outstanding Female Actor: ​Leah Ritz-Smith of Windmill Players, as “Irene Wilkins” in “The House Still Stands” by Karen King
Outstanding Director: Haley Gray of Dewdney Players for “Smitten”, by Anna Stillaman and Mark Matthews
Outstanding Production: “A Little Box Of Oblivion” by Stephen Bean, Dewdney Players
Outstanding Original Play by an Alberta Playwright:​Kim Cheel for “Carolien And Wessex”, Nose Creek Players

Prior Years